Day 1 of 159

roadtriptrunk

I don’t know exactly what it was about preparing to leave home this time around that made me so nostalgic. The two years of perspective I’ve gained away from home that have allowed me to reflect on my adolescence in Seattle more acutely likely played role. A stronger internalization of the changes this part of life (mid-college years) entails probably contributed as well. Anyways, I was pretty sad leading up to the first segment of this 159 day tour of the states, South America and Europe (and replaying the Shin’s Port of Morrow album definitely didn’t do the situation any good). However, whether it was just my short term memory lose kicking in or the excitement of travel, all feelings of nostalgia vanished when I got on the road.

This photo was taken in Paradise, MT on July 28th, the first day of my 159 day tour which I will (attempt) to chronicle in the Visit section of this blog. The first 10 days will be spent road-tripping though Washington, Idaho, Montana and Wyoming with stops in Whitefish, Glacier, Yellowstone and Jackson.

Subaru Outback packed with my personal road trip essentials. Trail running gear, frisbee, hammock, reads (This Time is Different: Eight Centuries of Financial Folly and Existentialism: A Very Short Introduction), quality beverages (including Anchor Brewing’s IPA and Lager), ham/cheese/avocado sandwiches, underwear, etc.

Author: Ty Joseph Hranac

Contact: ty.hranac@gmail.com or hranac@oxy.edu Profile photo by Adrianna Housman.

Leave a Reply

